OTTAWA-CARLETON REGIONAL TRANSIT COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING

The Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Commission met at Haydon Hall, Regional Headquarters, 111 Lisgar Street, Ottawa, on Wednesday, 8 December 1999.

The meeting was called to order at 6:35 p.m. with Commission Chair Al Loney presiding.

ALL MEMBERS WERE PRESENT EXCEPT COMMISSIONER HUME.

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The minutes of the Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Commission meeting of 27 October 1999 were confirmed.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST ARISING FROM PRIOR MEETINGS OF THE COMMISSION AND THE TRANSIT SERVICES COMMITTEE

No declarations of interest were filed.

REGRETS

The following members of the Commission advised that they will be absent from Commission and Committee meetings during the dates indicated:

Commissioner P. Hume 8 December 1999 {Regional Business}

Commissioner R. van den Ham 22 December 1999

MOTION TO INTRODUCE COMMITTEE REPORTS

MOTION NO. TC-45

Moved by Commissioner W. Byrne Seconded by Commissioner G. Hunter

RESOLVED THAT Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Services Committee Report No. 99-16 be received and considered and that the Rules of Procedure be suspended in order that the Commission may receive and consider the In-Camera Report of the General Manager, OC Transpo, dated 6 December 1999.

"CARRIED"

OTTAWA-CARLETON REGIONAL TRANSIT SERVICES COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 99-16

1. PARA TRANSPO SERVICE CONTRACT EXTENSION

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS AS AMENDED

That the Transit Commission:

1. Approve a two-year extension of the current Laidlaw Transit Ltd. contracts for the provision of Para Transpo services for persons with disabilities.

- 2. Write to the federal and provincial Ministers of Finance and Transportation to reiterate its position on the need to access a portion of fuel taxes in order to fund public transit.
- 3. Express its support for the Canadian Urban Transit Association (CUTA)'s request for assistance in persuading the Province of Ontario to re-invest in transit capital infrastructure.

"CARRIED"

2. SENIOR PASS PRICING

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS

That the Transit Commission approve that;

- 1. when the special \$19.99 senior pass rate for the International Year of Older Persons ends on December 31, 1999, the price be set at \$24 instead of being restored to its previous rate of \$28;
- 2. the existing top-up be maintained for senior pass users on Para Transpo.

"CARRIED" with Commissioners Byrne, Holmes and van den Ham dissenting.

REPORT OF THE GENERAL MANAGER, OC TRANSPO, DATED 6 DECEMBER 1999

MEMORANDUM OF AGREEMENT BETWEEN
THE OTTAWA-CARLETON REGIONAL TRANSIT COMMISSION (OC TRANSPO) AND
THE CANADIAN UNION OF PUBLIC EMPLOYEES (CUPE) LOCAL 5500

RECOMMENDATION

That the Commission approve the Memorandum of Agreement between the Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Commission (OC Transpo) and the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE), Local 5500, signed on 23 November 1999, which is attached as Appendix "A".

"CARRIED"

MOTION TO ADOPT COMMITTEE REPORTS

MOTION NO. TC-46

Moved by Commissioner J. Legendre Seconded by Commissioner M. Meilleur

RESOLVED THAT Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Services Committee Report No. 99-16 and the Report of the General Manager, OC Transpo, dated 6 December 1999 be received and adopted.

"CARRIED" with dissents as recorded on various items.

MOTION TO INTRODUCE BY-LAWS

MOTION NO. TC-47

Moved by Commissioner M. Meilleur Seconded by Commissioner G. Hunter

RESOLVED THAT the following by-laws be enacted and passed.

By-law 11 of 1999 to amend the Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Commission's By-law No. 8 of 1999, regarding the Commission's participation in the Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System (OMERS).

"C	٨	D.	DT	ות	7,
	4	\mathbf{r}	NΙ	r.	,

BY-LAW ENACTED AND PASSED.

CONFIRMATION BY-LAW

MOTION NO. TC-48

Moved by Commissioner D. Holmes Seconded by Commissioner J. Legendre

RESOLVED THAT By-law 12 of 1999 to confirm the proceedings of the Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Commission be enacted and passed.

"CARRIED"

BY-LAW ENACTED AND PASSED.

ADJOURNMENT

The Commission meeting was adjourned at 6:37 p.m.

COMMISSION CHAIR COMMISSION SECRETARY