## THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF OTTAWA-CARLETON

## DISPOSITION OF COMMITTEE REPORTS TO COUNCIL

## **10 DECEMBER 1997**

#### **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

#### NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 1

At it's meeting of 10 December 1997, Council adopted the following appointments to Committees, Boards and Commissions. In addition council adopted appointments of Acting Chairs, schedule of meetings, seating plan, other motions and by-laws. Following the Council meeting, the Standing Committees appointed their respective Chairs for the new term. These appointments are also noted for your information.

#### COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS AS AMENDED

### 1. <u>COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE</u>

- 1. W. Byrne
- 2. L. Davis
- 3. C. Doucet
- 4. D. Holmes
- 5. H. Kreling
- 6. A. Lonev
- 7. M. McGoldrick-Larsen
- 8. A. Munter

(CommitteeChair)

## 2. <u>CORPORATE SERVICES AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT</u> <u>COMMITTEE</u>

- 1. D. Beamish
- 2. P. Hume
- 3. G. Hunter
- 4. **B.** Hill
- 5. A. Loney
- 6. M. Meilleur
- 7. W. Stewart
- 8. R. van den Ham
- 9. R. Chiarelli (Committee Chair)

### 3. PLANNING AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

- 1. D. Beamish
- 2. M. Belleamare
- 3. B. Hill
- 4. P. Hume
- 5. R. van den Ham
- 6. J. Legendre
- 7. A. Munter
- 8. W. Stewart
- 9. G. Hunter

(Committee Chair)

## 4. OTTAWA-CARLETON REGIONAL TRANSIT COMMISSION

- 1. W. Byrne
- 2. M. Bellemare
- 3. L. Davis
- 4. C. Doucet
- 5. D. Holmes
- 6. H. Kreling
- 7. J. Legendre
- 8. R. Chiarelli
- 9. A. Loney

(Commission Chair)

## 5. TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

- 1. W. Byrne
- 2. M. Bellemare
- 3. l. Davis
- 4. C. Doucet
- 5. R. Cantin
- 6. H. Kreling
- 7. J. Legendre
- 8. M. McGoldrick-Larsen
- 9. M. Meilleur
- 10. D. Holmes (Committee Chair)

### 6. MEMBER SERVICES COMMITTEE

- 1. G. Hunter
- 2. A. Loney
- 3. M. McGoldrick-Larsen

### 7. ARTS COMMITTEE

- 1. C. Doucet
- 2. D. Holmes
- 3. A. Loney

### 8. 9-1-1 MANAGEMENT BOARD/9-1-1 ADVISORY COMMITTEE

1. R. Cantin

#### 9. CHILDREN"S AID SOCIETY

- 1. W. Byrne
- 2. C. Doucet
- 3. A. Munter
- 4. R. van den Ham

## 10. OTTAWA-CARLETON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION (OCEDCO)

- 1. W. Byrne
- 2. M. Bellemare
- 3. M. McGoldrick-Larsen
- 4. A. Munter
- 5. R. van den Ham
- 6. W. Stewart

Chair Chiarelli and Councillor Munter were appointed to the OCEDCO Board of Directors.

### 11. OTTAWA-CARLETON POLICE SERVICES BOARD

- 1. H. Kreling
- 2. J. Legendre

## 12. OTTAWA-CARLETON REGIONAL DISTRICT HEALTH COUNCIL

- 1. P. Hume
- 2. H. Kreling

### 13. OTTAWA TOURISM AND CONVENTION AUTHORITY

- 1. D. Beamish
- 2. R. Cantin
- 3. M. Meilleur

## 14. SINKING FUND COMMITTEE

- 1. Mr. J. LeBelle, Chair and Treasurer
- 2. Mr. C. M. Beckstead
- 3. Mr. Edwin Burgess
- 4. Mr. Richard White

### 15. OTTAWA LIFE SCIENCES COUNCIL

1. H. Kreling

### 16. <u>ACTING CHAIR ROTATION</u>

## REGIONAL COUNCILLOR TERM AS ACTING CHAIR

1.	Molly McGoldrick Larsen	December /97 - January /98
2.	Richard Cantin	February - March, 1998
3.	Dan Beamish	April - May, 1998
4.	Diane Holmes	June - July, 1998
5.	Michel Bellemare	August - September, 1998
6.	Robert van den Ham	October - November, 1998
7.	Wendy Byrne	December /98 - January /99
8.	Linda Davis	February - March, 1999
9.	Alex Munter	April - May, 1999
10.	Gord Hunter	June - July, 1999
11.	Peter Hume	August - September, 1999
12.	Wendy Stewart	October - November, 1999
13.	Madelaine Meilleur	December /99 - January /2000
14.	Jacques Legendre	February - March, 2000
15.	Herb Kreling	April - May, 2000
16.	Betty Hill	June - July, 2000
17.	Al Loney	August - September, 2000
18.	Clive Doucet	October - November, 2000

## 17. COUNCIL SEATING PLAN

Council adopted seating arrangements for members of Council at Regional Council meetings as illustrated in Annex B of the full report.

### 18. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS

Council adopted the schedule of meetings for the Standing Committees of Council and the Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Commission as follows:

NAME OF COMMITTEE	MEETING TIME AND DATE
COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE	1st and 3rd Thursday 1:30 p.m.
CORPORATE SERVICES AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE	1st and 3rd Tuesday 3:00 p.m.
PLANNING AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE	2nd and 4th Tuesday 3:00 p.m.
TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE	1st Wednesday - 1:30 p.m. 3rd Wednesday - 4:30 p.m.
OTTAWA-CARLETON REGIONAL TRANSIT COMMISSION	3rd Wednesday - 1:30 p.m.

## 19. Appointment to the Working Group-Citizen's Review Panel on Local Government Restructuring.

Council adopted the appointment of R. van den Ham to the vacant position on the Working Group to the Citizen's Panel on Local Government Restructuring and confirmed the appointment of the Chair Robert Chiarelli and of Councillor Alex Munter to the Working Group.

## **MOTIONS**

The following motion was adopted:

Moved by Councillor A. Munter Seconded by Councillor P. Hume

WHEREAS the provincial government has announced it will download responsibility for land ambulances to Ottawa-Carleton Regional Government on January 1, 1998; and

WHEREAS the region will inherit the current mixed public and semi-public ambulance system and will have to make decisions over the next 12 to 24 months about the administration of this service; and

WHEREAS there has been some discussion by the provincial government that it may initiate the process to sell off, amalgamate or otherwise make changes to the ambulance service; and

WHEREAS these changes might lead to increases in costs or decreases in service;

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Regional Council request that no changes to ambulance service be made without the approval of Regional Council, given the Region's new responsibility to pay for these services; and

FURTHER THAT this motion be circulated to all local MPP's, the Association of Municipalities of Ontario and the Ministers of Health and Municipal Affairs.

"CARRIED"

**BY-LAWS** 

ALL BY-LAWS ENACTED AND PASSED.

# NOTICES OF MOTION (FOR CONSIDERATION AT NEXT REGULAR COUNCIL MEETING)

Moved by Councillor R. van den Ham Seconded by Councillor H. Kreling

RESOLVED THAT Corporate Services and Economic Development Committee be increased to 9 members plus Regional Chiar.