## THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF OTTAWA-CARLETON

## **DISPOSITION OF COMMITTEE REPORTS TO COUNCIL**

## <u>19 JANUARY 1998</u>

## CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

#### 1. OTTAWA-CARLETON DISASTER RELIEF COMMITTEE

#### COUNCIL RECOMMENDATIONS

It is recommended to Council that:

- 1. formally request the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing to recommend to the Lieutenant Governor in Council that the Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton be declared a disaster area for the purposes of the Ontario Disaster Relief Assistance Program;
- 2. an Ottawa-Carleton Disaster Relief Committee be struck, consisting of up to 18 members;
- 3. the members to be appointed to the Ottawa-Carleton Disaster Relief Committee be those listed on Annex "A" to this report plus up to 7 members;
- 4. Council request the Lieutenant Governor in Council to provide financial assistance beyond the Ontario Disaster Relief Assistance Program Guidelines; and
- 5. Council request the Lieutenant Governor in council to provide financial assistance in respect of losses incurred by public entities.

# The above recommendations were carried as amended with the following members being appointed to the Disaster Relief Committee:

- 1. Joyce Stewart
- 2. John Harris
- 3. Jim Kennelly
- 4. Sandy Smallwood
- 5. Bill Wendt
- 6. Ted Proulx
- 7. Gerry Dust
- 8. Don Skinner
- 9. Dr. Ken Hartin

- 10. Al Bouwers
- 11. Larry Lesage
- 12. Jean Piggot
- 13. Larry Malloy
- 14. Nick Leadbetter
- 15. Dr. Khaled Hashem
- 16. Myles Edwards
- 17. Pierre Bergeron
- 18. Linda Seguin

### **BY-LAWS**

#### ALL BY-LAWS ENACTED AND PASSED.