# OTTAWA-CARLETON REGIONAL TRANSIT COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING

The Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Commission met at Haydon Hall, Regional Headquarters, 111 Lisgar Street, Ottawa, on Wednesday, 9 September, 1998.

The meeting was called to order at 7:20 p.m. with Commission Chair Al Loney presiding.

ALL MEMBERS WERE PRESENT EXCEPT COMMISSIONER W. STEWART.

#### **CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES**

The minutes of the Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Commission meetings of 25 March and 8 July, 1998, were confirmed.

### DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST ARISING FROM PRIOR MEETINGS OF THE COMMISSION AND THE TRANSIT SERVICES COMMITTEE

No declaration of interest were filed.

## MOTION TO INTRODUCE TRANSIT SERVICES COMMITTEE REPORTS

#### **MOTION NO. TC-5**

Moved by Commissioner W. Byrne Seconded by Commissioner B. Hill

RESOLVED that Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Services Committee Report No. 98-06 be received and considered.

"CARRIED"

## OTTAWA-CARLETON REGIONAL TRANSIT SERVICES COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 98-06

#### AIR CONDITIONING ON OC TRANSPO BUSES

#### COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS AS AMENDED

- 1. That the 140 buses on order for future deliveries have air conditioning added as a specification.
- 2. That the General Manager's report be referred to the Finance Commissioner and to the finance staff of OC Transpo to work on a long-term plan to fund a plan to retrofit the OC Transpo fleet with air conditioning.
- 3. That the provincial government be urged to fund 75% of the cost of air conditioning as has been done for transit properties in Toronto, Mississauga, Hamilton, London and Windsor.

"CARRIED" on a division of 11 Yeas to 5 Nays as follows:

YEAS: Commissioners Bellemare, Doucet, Byrne, Cantin, Meilleur, Holmes,

Davis, McGoldrick-Larsen, Munter, Chiarelli and Chair Loney....11

NAYS: Commissioners Legendre, Hill, van den Ham, Kreling and

Beamish....5

NOTE: The minutes of the Transit Committee Meeting of 26 August, 1998, were

amended to reflect that Commissioner H. Kreling dissented on the

recommendations.

#### MOTION TO ADOPT COMMITTEE REPORTS

#### **MOTION NO. TC-6**

Moved by Commissioner R. Chiarelli Seconded by Commissioner W. Byrne

**RESOLVED THAT Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Services Committee Report** No. 98-06 be received and adopted.

"CARRIED" with dissents as recorded on various items.

#### **MOTION NO. TC-7**

Moved by Commissioner R. van den Ham Seconded by Commissioner B. Hill

RESOLVED THAT the OC Transit Commission move In Camera pursuant to subsection 10 a) ii) of the procedure By-law, as the matter relates to personal matters about identifiable individuals, including staff.

"CARRIED"

#### **IN CAMERA SESSION**

The Chief Administrative Officer, Regional Solicitor, Human Resources Commissioner and Internal Auditor were present to brief the Commission and respond to questions.

#### **MOTION NO. TC-8**

Moved by Commissioner P. Hume Seconded by Commissioner C. Doucet

RESOLVED THAT the rules of procedure be suspended in order that the Commission may receive and consider two (2) reports from the Chief Administrative Officer dated 9 September, 1998 on matters related to OC Transpo.

"CARRIED"

#### **MOTION NO. TC-9**

Moved by Commissioner C. Doucet Seconded by Commissioner D. Holmes

RESOLVED THAT the Ottawa-Carleton Transit Commission arise from In-Camera session.

"CARRIED"

**IN OPEN COMMISSION MEETING** 

#### **MOTION NO. TC-10**

Moved by Commissioner R. van den Ham Seconded by Commissioner B. Hill

RESOLVED THAT the two(2) reports of the Chief Administrative Officer dated 9 September, 1998, entitled:

- OC Transpo Restructuring
- Redundancy of Position-Treasurer and Controller;

be received and adopted.

"CARRIED" with Commissioner Davis dissenting.

#### **CONFIRMATION BY-LAW**

#### **MOTION NO. TC - 11**

Moved by Commissioner G. Hunter Seconded by Commissioner L. Davis

RESOLVED THAT By-law 4 of 1998 to confirm the proceedings of the Ottawa-Carleton Regional Transit Commission, be enacted and passed.

"CARRIED"

BY-LAW ENACTED AND PASSED.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The Commission meeting was adjourned at 9:30 p.m.

**COMMISSION SECRETARY** 

**COMMISSION CHAIR**